Issue 87656

Summary: The quickstarter popup menu does not work correctly when IME toolbar is turned on
Product: General Reporter: jeongkyu.kim
Component: codeAssignee: AOO issues mailing list <issues>
Status: CONFIRMED --- QA Contact:
Severity: Trivial    
Priority: P3 CC: aijin.kim, issues
Version: OOo 2.3   
Target Milestone: ---   
Hardware: All   
OS: Windows XP   
Issue Type: DEFECT Latest Confirmation in: ---
Developer Difficulty: ---

Description jeongkyu.kim 2008-03-31 16:27:08 UTC
There was a bug report through Korean community forum that quickstarter popup
menu does not work properly. When clicking quickstarter icon, its popup menu is
sometimes messed up by Windows task bar popup menu which is popuped up at the
same time. While trying to reproduce the behavior, I found that this happens
only for OOo quickstarter only when IME toolbar is turned on. Here is a
screenshot to show the behavior on Korean version of Windows XP - there is no
problem when no IME toolbar, but the problem starts happening once IME toolbar
is turned on. 

http://openoffice.or.kr/files/ooo_systray.htm

My further research revealed that such behavior is caused by the difference of
system tray event on which OOo shows popup menu. **OOo shows popup menu on
WM_RBUTTONDOWN event by contrast with other applications usually show popup menu
on WM_RBUTTONUP event**.

When I changed the code like the following and tested it with my own DEV300_m3
build, I could verify the problem goes away.

---
(in sfx2/source/appl/shutdowniconw32.cxx)

case SFX_TASKBAR_NOTIFICATION:
  switch( lParam )
  {
  ...
--  case WM_RBUTTONDOWN:
++  case WM_RBUTTONUP:
    {
      POINT pt;
      GetCursorPos(&pt);
      SetForegroundWindow( hWnd );

---

Interestingly, this does not happen on Windows Vista. However, this causes
serious usability issue for Korean Windows XP users because IME toolbar is
turned on by default. I hope my fix could be applied at the earliest possible
version.
Comment 1 jeongkyu.kim 2008-03-31 16:28:55 UTC
@blueice7: Would you check this on Chinese Windows XP?
Comment 2 blueice7 2008-04-09 10:20:24 UTC
Sorry for late reply..
Same problem with Korean IME toolbar in Chinese Windows XP. I can't see the
problem when Chinese IME toolbar is active.
Comment 3 jeongkyu.kim 2008-04-11 06:51:33 UTC
Thanks for the testing. This issue seems to affect Korean IME users only.
Comment 4 jeongkyu.kim 2008-04-11 06:53:35 UTC
Any chance to apply the fix above in 2.4.1?